Thankful Thursday

252304_20160524_084923_13124797_1329408837075843_1229143086604147773_n
We have so much; we need so little!

My husband and I are now in our 70’s and will be celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary this coming May.  As we ponder the number of years that we might have remaining, we are forced to consider setting things in order and to be about ridding our home of some of our STUFF!   We both agree that this has to be the year to get this done!

This morning as I was thinking about all we have for which to be thankful, I thought of going through our house and visualizing all we have.  I was overwhelmed with the number of things we have.  I do spend a great deal of time organizing what we have,  and yet, still not able to find the very thing we need when we need it….bottom line…too much STUFF.

I thought I might google “abundance of stuff” to see what I might find and behold, this YouTube video series came up.  This is a great four-part social science series that is really excellent.  Just the thought of counting every item in every room was overwhelming, not to mention, just plain embarrassing!  My New Year’s plan– rid half of the items in each room working in one room each month this year.  My husband is working on the garage this month.  Yesterday, he showed me how clean his workbench was!  Amazed!  Well, we are off to a great start, and hopefully we will in the future have much less STUFF for which to be thankful and a lot less stress.

Two things that resonated with me from these videos are:

“Systematically documenting possessions by counting very single thing in every single space of our home.”  (Not really wanting to go there!)

“We have many mechanisms by which we accumulate possessions in our homes, but have no or few mechanisms or processes by which we unload or get rid of these items.”  (Time, energy and a desire to haul out just might work!)

51-4rthj0cl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

I have found these videos so interesting that I have put a request in to our local library inter-library loan to borrow and read this book.  I am sure it will be very helpful to me.

Have a thankful day,
Gen's-Signature

 

This entry was posted in Organization, Thankful Thursdays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

