His Word for My Week – Tied Up in Knots

I’m not a knot, Lord, no I’m not.
Well, not at the moment.

Keep me untied, Lord,
Straighten me out.
Get hold of the frayed ends,
hold them securely in place.
Help me lay still in Your hand
while You tease out the tightness.

Tied in tight against myself
Twisted over in knots of notness
I’m no good to You or me
or the people I love!

Help me, Lord, not be a knot!

One of the goals listed on my “Goals and Projection Sheet” for the new year is to do a better job of managing stress.  I think this something we all have to continually work on for  life is certainly not stress free.  (I will do a future post on “How to Set Goals.”)

Often when I am getting over excitable and upset, my husband tells me to not to “get my knickers in a knot.”  What he is trying to tell me is to relax and untighten my tightness!
His words remind of the need to calm down, to take a deep breath, and think before reacting.  We live in such an “uptight” world, don’t we.  If we aren’t uptight ourselves, we are experiencing someone else’s uptightness.

We all realize that stressors (our knots) can be good in the short term, motivating us to accomplish.  But long term stress can be so very harmful, taking its toll on us emotionally and physically, and can keep us from enjoying the full extent of God’s love and grace.  So let’s take a look at what makes us (me) uptight, and what can we (I) do to untie our (my) knots.

My knots (and perhaps yours also) and how I plan to untie those knots:

1.  Worry and Anxiety ” The What If Syndrome” –  I know that 90% of what I worry about never comes to fruition.  Worry and anxiety are useless emotions that wear me out!

Resolution:  (Philippians 4:6-9)  Don’t worry, practice prayer, and think on right things.  I will change my automatic negative thoughts that lack faith and trust and deliberately turn my face toward God and His peace.  “Turn my eyes upon Jesus, look full in his wonderful face, and the things of earth (worry, anxiety) will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.”

2.  Fear of Failure – As long as I grow and change, I will always have fear.  I must realize that failure and trials make me stronger. This is so attached to my ego, wanting the applause and not the disappointment of others.

Resolution:  (2 Timothy 1:7) God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power (His) and of a sound mind.   Instead of fighting back, resisting, and playing the victim, I will face my fear and cope with it.  I will agree that I am afraid, work through it, and turn my failures into successes.  My self-talk determines whether I am practicing the presence of the enemy or the presence of God.  “The Lord is on my side, I will not fear.  What can man do to me?  Psalm 118:6

3.  Perfectionism –  I admit that I just be a bit of a perfectionist, often setting impossible goals.  I want to learn the balance between mediocrity and the overkill of perfectionism.

Resolution:  (1 Peter 5:9) I will cast all my cares upon Him, for he cares for me instead of trying to carry my own load.   I will yoke up with Him and allow Him to pull the load with and for me.   “King Solomon said that whatever your hands find to do, do it with all your might.  He did not say, “Whatever you do, work yourself to death.”  I will pursue excellence, motivated by the desire to serve God and others, by striving to do my best and being satisfied with that.  I will set reasonable goals and priorities and review them monthly.

4.  Procrastination – Postponing what needs to be done.  Some days I see myself in this Prov. 26:12-16 as a one bored, slothful and who seems to love doing nothing, and I am not talking here  about a “needful rest.”    I find myself doing the things I love to do verses the things I need to do.   My “should haves” leave me feeling guilty.

Resolution:  (Prov. 90:12) “Teach me to number my days, that I might apply my heart to wisdom.”  Because I don’t know if I have the opportunity of a tomorrow, my motto needs to be “Action today, not tomorrow.”  Get er done, gal!  I will list my priorities for the day and accomplish them, Lord willing and the creek don’t rise (as my hubby says.)  “If it is to be, it’s up to me, and Thee.”

5.  Dealing with Unlovely People – I am not talking about good people with differing opinions, but contentious, intentionally aggravating, and just plainly,  evil people.  Their desire is to deliberately bring harm to me and my reputation.  What am I to do with these folks who love seeing me tied in knots?    I was approached this week by a couple of friends who asked advise on this subject.  I have been reflecting on this over the past week, and next week, I will attempt to bring some thoughts on how to untie this knot.   You will not want to miss this, so stay tuned!

Lastly, might I mention the need for getting proper sleep, exercise,  and eating nutritionally.  Taking supplements such as B-complex vitamins, chlorophyll and spirulina, adaptogens, and Vitamin C can help keep our adrenal hormones in balance and reduce the effects of stress.  We also need to set aside some alone time to rest, reflect and pray. I find keeping a daily journal to be helpful.  You can find a copy of my journal pages for reprinting  here:  devotional pages

Have a Blessed and Balanced Day,
Gen's-Signature

 

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

