His Word for My Week – Filtering Media thru Philippians 4:8-9

We enjoy so many forms of media and entertainment…newspapers, news clips via TV and internet, television, movies, cell phones, instant messaging, email, internet, and video games to name a few.  But as Christians we must exercise some discretion in selecting what we are going view.  What we allow in our minds influences our attitudes and behaviors.

This week while viewing Facebook posts, I found myself becoming very disturbed over the
content of several posts (surprisingly some posted by Christians) that contained foul language, alluring, sensual photos, and disrespect for others.  This so reminded me of Pastor’s message of Sunday from 2 Timothy 3:1-5 that we are indeed living in perilous times, the last of the last days:

 “This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, truce breakers, false accusers, incontinent (lack of restraint), fierce, despisers of those that are good, 4  traitors, heady, high minded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.”

For me personally, my response will be  “From such turn away.”  So as my 7 -year old grandson would say, “Here’s the plan.”

  1. Accepting that which compliments and rejecting what is contrary to the teaching of Scripture, making the choice of  “unfriending” on FB and removing from other social media those who post God-dishonoring, offensive content.  (Garbage out-God in!)
  2. Thinking through the media that I absorb and determining if that media will pass through the filter of Philippians 4:8-9. (Love this  freebie chalkboard print from StoneGable blog, you can find it here.)  If the media will pass through this filter, I am free to enjoy it; if not, remove it.  Philippians4 8-printable chalkboard art-stonegableblog
  3. The Lord has convicted me about the amount of time I have been spending on the internet, and I am committing myself to spending less than one hour per day on the internet, and only after I have spent ample time in the Word of God and in prayer!

Verse 9 “Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do:  and the God of peace shall be with you.”  WHAT A PROMISE!

Have a blessed day,

Gen's-Signature

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

