His Word for My Week – Wholeheartedness

Scripture:
08a78dbb590cddbde90f0feed29b8be0

untitled

Reflection:
I have to wonder if I am a “whole-hearted seeker” of God.  Would these words: committed, positive, emphatic, devoted, dedicated, enthusiastic, unshakable, unswerving describe my attempt to find God in the midst of my days?  Can I truly say as the psalmist that “as the deer panteth for the water, so my soul longeth after Thee?” Or perhaps, “half-hearted” might better describe my effort to study and memorize His Word, to pray and supplicate, and to worship, fellowship and serve God in His house with His people, and to share Him and His “Good News” with those about me in my realm of influence.

Prayer:
“Heavenly Father, Lord, I know that the most peaceful and  joyful of my days are those spent with You, listening to Your voice and  Your valued instruction and the comfort of Your loving, caring, encouraging Words.  I fear that I am so prone to wander from Your ways.  I find myself so distracted by the things of this world, by the busyness of earthly duties, and the heaviness of the cares and concerns of each day.  Help me Lord to lay these distractions at Your feet, and to first seek You with my whole heart!  Teach me Your Word, Lord and help me to bring it to mind when needed.  Help me to yield to Your Spirit that I may be able to endure suffering without impatience.  Empower my will  to say “no” to pride that makes me independent of Your will.  Equip me to do Your will and work in me that which is pleasing in Your sight.  In Jesus Name and for His sake, Amen.

“Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing”

 Have a most blessed day,
Gen's-Signature

This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

