His Word for My Week – Spiritual Battle – Preparation

images

Spiritual Battle
Preparation & Prayer

 1.  Put on the Armor:
In battling for our loved ones we need to come against a stronghold that has them captive.  A stronghold is like a fortified castle that you can’t seem to penetrate–a place where the enemy’s position is most strongly intensified.  Spiritually speaking, a stronghold is a mind set or conclusion contrary to Scripture that is firmly entrenched.  It is often a thought pattern of hopelessness which causes a person to endure a situation that is clearly contrary to God’s Word and God’s will.  The best time to put on the armor is during morning devotional time.  Pray something like this:

“Father, Thank you for the provision You have made for victory over Satan.

Now, by faith, I put on the girdle of truth.  May my life today be motivated by truth.  Help me to maintain integrity.

By faith, I put on the breastplate of righteousness.  May my heart love that which is righteous and refuse what is sinful.  Thank You for the imputed righteousness of Christ.

By faith, I put on the shoes of peace.  Help me to stand in Christ’s victory today.  Help me to be a peacemaker and not a troublemaker.  (Even with people who irritate me.)

By faith, I take the shield of faith.  May I trust You and Your Word today and not add fuel to any of Satan’s darts.  Thank you that I can go into this day with fear.
(Let not my heart be troubled.)

By faith, I put on the helmet of salvation.  May I remember today that Jesus is
coming again.  Help me to live in the future tense.
Protect my mind from discouragement and despair.

By faith, I take the sword of the Spirit.  Help me to remember You Word and to use it today.

Father, by faith, I have put on the armor.  May this be a day of victory.”

2.  Repent of Sin in Your own life:
We must be sure there is no sin and forgiveness in your own heart before we battle in the spiritual realm for others.  Pray, “I forgive __________ for Your sake in order that no advantage be taken of us by Satan, for we are not ignorant of his schemes.”  2 Cor. 2:10-11

 

This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to His Word for My Week – Spiritual Battle – Preparation

Leave a Reply

