His Word for My Week – Blessed of God

The Lord has brought the word “blessing” to my mind so frequently lately.  On Mother’s day our pastor delivered a message from Proverbs 31, which I thought was going to be the typical Proverbs 31 dissertation of a multi-talented, praiseworthy, Godly woman.   How surprised I was (and I am sure others were also) to have the message focused on verse 28, “Her children rise up, and call her blessed.”  Would my child say of me,  “my mother is blessed of God?”  More specifically, does my daughter know that her mother is blessed of God?  Interesting question, don’t you think?  I would say that I am blessed, but do others see that God does bless my life?  I wonder.  Do others see that despite the hills and valleys of my life, that my life is truly watered by God!  

Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote of his firm hope from a Nazi prison:  “Blessing means laying one’s hand on something and saying: Despite everything, you belong to God.”  Quite often when someone asks me how am I,  I assuredly respond with “blessed.”  I know that I am blessed because I belong to the Lord that blesses!  I am not blessed because of any labor, effort or ingenuity on my part, but because it is consistent with God’s nature to want to bless His children.  Any blessing that you and I have comes from the hand of God.  Our dependence upon Him, our  yielding to Him, our communing with Him will produce greater blessings than we could ever produce ourselves.  

In Deuteronomy,  God, who gives us the capacity to choose,  asks us to choose between blessing and cursing:  11:26-28, “Behold, I set before you this day a blessing and a curse; a blessing if you obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I commanded you this day: and a curse, if ye will not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside out of the way which I command you this day, to go after other gods, which ye have not known.”   Obedience always leads to life and blessing and disobedience leads to death, destruction, and loss of blessing.  Making the correct choice seems like a no-brainer, right? His commands are given to us for a purpose…to water our lives and our children’s lives that we may have long, productive and flourishing lives, and then to be ushered into everlasting life.    But we can be assured of this that this world offers a vast choice of other gods to go after that will only lead to destruction, separation and an eternity apart from God.  Deuteronomy 30:15 concludes with “See, I have set before thee this day life and good, and death and evil. ”  What will we choose?  Know this, God always wants to lead us to the place of blessing!

Personally, in spite of my failure to be always obedient and pleasing to God, my earnest desire is to love the Lord with all that is within me, to walk in His ways, and to keep His commandments, statutes, and judgements, and to be blessed of God.

The final question:  Would others know by our manner of life that you and I are “blessed” of God?  

This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

